Posted by: emsfh1 | January 6, 2010

Gerald W. Houser

Gerald W. Houser,66, of Sumner, IL passed away January 6, 2010 in Olney, IL.  Born August 10, 1943 in Lawrence County, IL he was the son of Wilbur and Opal (Craig) Houser.

Gerald worked as a supervisor for 35 years at AMF/Roadmaster and worked at Skyline Steel in Newton.  He was a member of the Eagles, Moose, and American Legion.

Gerald was preceded in death by his parents, one daughter Dena Marie Houser, and one sister Kay Pittman.

Survivors include two sons Doug and Kim Houser of Olney and Aaron and Susana Houser of Deltona, FL; three daughters Karen and Russell Adams of Sumner, Lisa and Jeff Taylor of Noble and Janet Collins of Olney; two sisters Romell Hipsher of Sumner and Cindy Thompson of rural Lawrenceville; 22 grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren.

A memorial service will be held 7:00 pm Monday at the Sivert-Macey & Steffey Funeral Home in Sumner, IL. Friends may call from 4:00 to 7:00 pm Monday at the funeral home.

 

Responses

  1. Karen, Janet and family,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your father.
    May God comfort you at this time.

  2. Janet and Family: I’m so sorry about your loss. Even when our parents are sick we are never prepared for them to leave, but I hope you will find peace and comfort soon. You’re all in my prayers.

  3. To the Houser family: I know there is nothing to say at this time to ease your pain, however I wanted you all to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers and I am very sorry for your loss.

  4. I worked with Jerry for 2 years on the second shift in the press department at AMF from 1962 – 1964. He was a very good person and one of the hardest workers I ever knew. I am very sorry for your loss.

    Jim Petty

  5. I worked with and for Gerald several years ago at Roadmaster. I also had the pleasure of playing softball with him at that time. I thought he tried his best to to be fair and honest as a boss. He and I would always joke and have fun no matter what. Take care at this time of sorrow.

  6. Heart felt condolences and sympathy to your family.

  7. My condolences to the Houser family. Gerald will be greatly missed by myself and all that knew him. He was kind, generous and fun man to be around. I will miss him. If any of you need anything I will do my best to help. Take care. Debi Yates

  8. Karen, Janet, and to the rest of the family Know yoour in my thoughts and prayers in your time of loss. Your Father was a very nice man to me when Karen I would visit. Take care


Leave a Reply

Categories

